Ariel Willey – SWEFL!

IMG_3163 (2)1) Please give a little bit of background about yourself.

My name is Ariel Willey. I am a junior at Harvey Mudd College (HMC), studying engineering. I am currently the vice president of SWE and attended WE13 (The Annual Conference for Women Engineers) held in Baltimore in October.

2) How did you get interested in SWE?

I learned about SWE at Harvey Mudd’s Admitted Students Program. It was at the Women’s Dinner, where I happened to sit with the then-president of HMC SWE. She was enthusiastic, and told me about SWE and some of the things that the Harvey Mudd chapter does. I was excited to hear about an engineering club, and targeted toward females, no less! I signed up at the career fair the first week of freshman year and have been involved since then.

3) Why do you think SWE is important?

Many reasons! SWE makes society aware that there are many female engineers. It is great for college students to get involved to learn from each other and professional SWE members, in addition to being able to attend webinars and conferences. It is support, advice, and fun! SWE is growing and growing, and I am excited to be a part of it!

4) Where do you see yourself going in the next 5, 10, 30 years?

I see myself eventually getting a job as a civil engineer, maybe in my hometown, Bishop, CA. I might attend graduate school for an MBA or Masters of Engineering, I might work first, or I might take some time off – I’m not sure yet! I definitely see myself continuing with SWE when I graduate. It is an inspiration to see females in engineering fields, and I want to be an inspiration to young girls as well (SWE facilitates that better than I could on my own!).

5) Now that you have been in SWE for a bit, what advice would you give new members of SWE?

I would say be outgoing! I was really shy when I could have made great friends and contacts (I have made them now, but I could have as a freshman as well!). I would tell myself to be confident and talk to people.

Leave a Reply

